Gamifying the Real World

Allana Carnie, Deakin University

How does the practice of gamification aim to enhance user engagement in the present?

Gamification is explained and promoted in this 7 minute video, touching on its use in business, education and wellbeing. While games are often seen as having a negative impact on peoples health, studies show that it is having much more of a positive impact in terms of user engagement, and we should really be getting on board and gamifying what we do in the workplace and in classrooms.

The video I have created is an exploration of Gamification, primarily to engage audiences in the workforce and for real world situations. It is set out like a visual essay, using titles, imagery and overlayed videos with audio of my voice and music, as I believe this is an interesting way of capturing an audience, and using game sounds and visuals to ‘gamify’ the video in a way. I have broken the video up into segments, first with an introduction of Gamification, touching on Structural gamification and then going in to using my resources to explore how Gamifying products can benefit businesses and their employees. This again has 2 segments, Games used for solving real world problems and Games used to engage people, both in the workplace and in general for wellbeing. A lot of my own personal experiences helped to develop some resources and gave me an idea of where to start- for example the TEDTalks video, which I thought worked really well in the video.

In the production of this video, I struggled a little with coming up with a structure for the video, but began putting resources together and collecting images to give me some inspiration. I wrote out what I would record for the voice over, because I work better with a script and so I put it in the format of an essay. In putting the information together in a visual form, I’m not as used to doing this, but I did enjoy the experience in using my video editing skills to develop something informative and analytic, which I think I can do quite well in written form usually.

For Creative Commons source material, I have looked through Creative Commons image sites and Flickr for PTC images, and have also created some of my own.I have recieved permission from names and content I have used from other people. I have created animations in the past and understand Creative Commons is essential for using other peoples works and attributing them, however in this case I felt that the footage I used was also essential in demonstrating my points. I filmed some footage of playing games using some family members, such as a board game, a Virtual Reality headset and Iphone apps. I also took photos and designed a quick animation to go with the statistics I have used, and took some footage from a Game animation I created last trimester for an animation class, to show while I talk about games more generally. The TEDTalks video is under the Creative Commons law and I have used snippets of this to discuss Jane McGonigal’s ideas on Games. Sounds and music I have used were already in my personal Royalty free library, so I was aware that these are under Creative Commons as well, attributions are in the Resources section. As I have mentioned, I created an animation to incorporate a statistic about gamification, which I felt was important (Marta Raunch, p.276, 2013), and some other information is more paraphrased throughout the video. I felt that with the use of Jane McGonigal’s video and Gabe Lichermann’s quote that I didn’t need to include more quotes from other scholarly resources because I had quoted people enough. Although this was for a different segment of the video and so I’ve broken that up quite well, with a definition of where both start and end using the TEDTalks video.

My Broader Online Activity

I have taken extra notice of what classifies as ‘gamification’ and about what incorporates game mechanics for different purposes, upon coming into the ALC203 unit at Deakin University. Not considering myself a gamer for a start, was perhaps inaccurate with the use of gamified tools I use in my daily life. The unit has given me a greater appreciation, not only for games but for the techniques innovatives use to engage audiences. I have been following game sites and Youtube channels and finding different aspects of Facebook including gamified techniques to get people involved and it really is fascinating what big differences interactive elements can make. I upload comics weekly as well and have made use of Twitter to promote this. Even making posts interactive with calls to action can in some ways be seen as gamification, creating challenges for viewers etc.

Resources

America’s Army: Proving Grounds, Steam screenshots, [Accessed Dec 30 2016]: http://store.steampowered.com/app/203290

Jared Lindsay, Towers of Video Games image, July 25, 2009: [Accessed Dec 26 2016]: https://flickr.com/photos/cinder6/3756838204/
5 Companies using Gamifcation to Boost Business Results, Charles Coy, April 17 2015 https://www.cornerstoneondemand.com/rework/5-companies-using-gamification-boost-business-results

10 best examples of gamification in business, Monica Wells, My Customer, [Accessed Dec 30 2016]: http://www.mycustomer.com/community/blogs/monicawells/top-10-best-examples-of-gamification-in-business

Audio under Creative Commons –

Sounds by Zach King, http://www.sweetsoundeffects.com, Video Game Pack, Lasers Pack, Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Ex Xilo, Jack Elphick, Youtube Audio Library, Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

The Bluest Sky, Youtube Audio Library, Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Images and footage under Creative Commons – 

Images from Pexels under Creative Commons license, no attribution

Tiffit badges images, Adam Brown, Deakin Tutor, [accessed 3 Jan 2017]

Flickr.com, Jared Lindsay, rights reserved – NonCommercial, Attribution, NoDerivatives, Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Smiling Mind, app, [accessed 25 Dec 2016]: https://smilingmind.com.au/

Scholarly

Jane McGonigal, Gaming can make a better world, Feb 2010, TEDTalks, TED2010 video, Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Karl M. Kapp, The Gamification of Learning and Instruction: Game-based Methods and Strategies for Training and Education, John Wiley & Sons, 1 May 2012, USA pp. 18

M. Rauch. Best Practices for Using Enterprise Gamification to Engage Employees and Customers, Chapter Human-Computer Interaction. Applications and Services, Volume 8005 of the seriesLecture Notes in Computer Science, Springer Berlin Heidelberg, USA, 2013, pp 276-283

Richard N. Landers &  Rachel C. Callan, Casual Social Games as Serious Games: The Psychology of Gamification in Undergraduate Education and Employee Training, Serious Games and Edutainment Applications, pp 399-423

Leave a Reply

